About DPU

The Duhok Polytechnic University (informally DPU) is a collegiate research university located in Kurdistan Region-Iraq. Kurdistan Region is rapidly evolving and has witnessed a continual shift in educational needs for its society. Both higher education enrollments and the number of institutions have expanded dramatically during the last decade. As a public multi-campus university, DPU has eight technical institutes and four technical colleges in seven districts within Duhok Governorate, each of which has a unique community with local economic, social, cultural, and environmental development needs. Duhok Polytechnic University, established in 2012, is one of the three polytechnic universities in Kurdistan under the auspices of the (KRG) Ministry of Higher Education and Scientific Research. DPU was originally descended from the oldest institute in Duhok Governorate in 1988, with 19558 graduates since then. Students enrolled in DPU are selected based on their scores at high school. Classes begin in late September and last until the end of June. DPU offers a wide range of curricula leading to Diplomas (Associate Degrees) and Bachelor of Science Degrees. Course syllabi are developed under the oversight of the Quality Assurance. New programs are put into place when the staff, space, facilities, and equipment have been procured. Programs are designed to meet government strategy and market needs. DPU is currently developing a strategic plan in response to the national authority of assessment and international academic accreditation. Therefore, it has a commitment to academic improvement, and establishing relationships with international universities through MOU’s, some of them have been signed already and effectively functional.