Duhok Polytechnic University (DPU) is the only TECHNICAL public university in Duhok Governorate. Started as the Duhok Technical Institute (DTI) in 1988 in Duhok City, followed by establishing other campuses as six neighboring districts, namely Akre, Amedi, Bardarash, Shingal, Shekhan and Zakho.

In 2012, the Duhok Polytechnic University (DPU) was inaugurated to include eight Technical Institutes (TI) and four Technical Colleges (TC) including: TC of Engineering in Duhok, TC of Health in Shekhan, Akre Technical College and TC of Administration.